Kitchen Clean-Out: Chicken Pot Pie

I’m not very good at cooking every day and I’m just as good at posting about how bad I am at cooking every day.

There’s not much to write about nothing!  Here’s a recap of what I ate all week:

Tuesday – Grilled cheese with minestrone soup (I made an extra sandwich for lunch the next day;the entire office was jealous when I toasted it up in the toaster oven!)

Wednesday – Emergency burgers!  What would I do without these!?

Thursday – I joined Tom and had a salad. (baby spinach, carrot, cucumber, bell pepper, almonds, cranberry-gorgonzola dressing)

Friday – Pasta and sauce – I have to admit, I used a jar of non-organic sauce that had been in the cupboard since before I moved in.

Saturday – Another long day away from home, we ate out.

Sunday – Finally I made a meal!  Chicken Pot Pie – YUM!  I also made Zucchini Bread!

I got rid of a can of soup, a burger and bun, a box of pasta and a jar of sauce, a bag of mixed veggies, a bag of zucchini mush, and used up more rice flour.

Chicken Pot Pie

Ingredients:
12 oz frozen mixed vegetables
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon poultry seasoning
¼ teaspoon pepper
1 ¼ cups milk
½ cup finely chopped onion
1 can condensed cream of chicken soup
¼ cup sour cream
1 ¼ lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, cooked, cut into bite-size pieces
1 pie crust

Directions:
Cook and drain vegetables as directed on bag.
Heat oven to 375°F.
In 2-quart saucepan, mix flour, salt, poultry seasoning, pepper and milk with wire whisk until blended. Stir in onion. Cook over medium heat 4 to 6 minutes, stirring constantly, until thickened.
Stir in soup and sour cream. Add chicken and cooked vegetables; mix well. Cook, stirring frequently, until heated.
Pour into ungreased 2-quart round casserole.
Unroll pie crust; place over hot filling. Seal edge and flute as desired. Cut slits in several places in crust.
Bake 35 to 40 minutes or until crust is golden brown and mixture is bubbly.
Let stand 10 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

