Kitchen Clean-Out: Lemony Quinoa w. Broccoli & Cashews

FAIL!  I’m not sure why I would use so much of an ingredient that I know I don’t like just because the recipes says so.  I don’t like lemon anything, I don’t even like lemon in my water, so why would I go ahead and dump a whole 1/4 cup into my quinoa??  I’m not sure either – but YU-CK! I changed the name of this recipe to reflect the fact that this is a lemony dish!

So after saying all that; I hope you enjoy the first recipe from Project: Kitchen Clean-Out; Lemony Quinoa w. Broccoli and Cashews!

 

Lemony Quinoa w. Broccoli & Cashews

Ingredients:
• 1/2 cup sundried tomatoes (not packed in oil)
• 1 cup low-sodium vegetable broth
• 1 cup finely chopped red onion
• 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
• 3/4 cup dry white wine
• 1/4 cup lemon juice
• 1 cup uncooked quinoa
• 2 cups small broccoli florets
• 1/2 cup roasted cashew pieces
• 2 green onions, thinly sliced

Directions:
Soak tomatoes in hot water to cover for 15 minutes to soften, drain and chop.
Bring 1/2 cup water to a simmer in a medium pot over medium-high heat.
Add onion and garlic and cook for 5 minutes.
Add chopped tomatoes, broth, wine and lemon juice. Bring to a boil. Stir in quinoa.
Reduce heat and simmer, covered, 20 minutes.
Arrange broccoli on top of quinoa, cover and simmer for an additional 10 minutes.
Remove from heat and toss gently to combine.
Serve garnished with cashews and green onions.

Leave a Reply

