Project: Kitchen Clean-Out

I am aware of how lack I have been here!  I’m sorry, we’ve been launching our new website and it’s taken a lot of my time over the last month – check it out if you get a chance: LifeByYourOwnRules.com

Tom and I are over the hill so to speak with our travel plans – what was once 12 months is now 5 so planning has turned into preparing.  As I look around the kitchen, it’s hard to ignore the amount of dry stuffs and frozen foods here – where is all this food going to go when we leave??

I have given myself a challenge – use all the food in the kitchen.

Ok, so that doesn’t sound too challenging does it?  Well, considering we spend plenty each week on new groceries coming in it’s safe to say we’re not using half of what we have – which I can assume is because I don’t like it or am not sure what to do with it, which is what makes this challenging!

To help with the creativity part of this challenge I will be using SuperCook – just telling it what I have and searching all the recipes I can make with those items.

Tonight’s meal: Zesty Quinoa with Broccoli and Cashews.  Sounds good, matter of fact I had printed this recipe weeks ago so I should be on board, however I’m smelling the almost finished product and I have a bad feeling about this one!

Stay tuned!  I’ll be posting daily (GASP!) with the previous night’s recipe!

Leave a Reply

