So, I watched Food, Inc. 12 days ago…

It has changed my whole mindset!  I mean, I’ve always been lean and healthy but it was pure luck; I ate whatever I wanted, as much as I wanted and even though I seemed active, I rarely worked out.  As my 20’s rolled by, I started to notice my “winter weight” wasn’t loosing itself anymore.  About 2 years ago I was blessed with a free gym membership and began my first ever gym workouts.  I tend to go through phases (matter of fact, now that I think of it, my whole life has been a series of basically 2 phases on repeat… healthy and not-so-much-so lol).  When I am in “healthy mode” I am working out 3 days/week (20 min cardio, 30 min strength training) and I eat (what I considered) healthy meals.  When I am in, hmm, lets call it “don’t give a shit mode” I, well, don’t give a shit! I just eat what I am hungry for with no thought to portion or calorie count, let alone the physical components of my food.

About 6 months ago I started buying my meats at Whole Foods to avoid growth hormones.  The only organics I was buying were the “Dirty Dozen” (thin-skinned produce, ones that pesticides could easily penetrate).  Mind you, I am forever broke, all be it of my own doing, I didn’t have the money to shop organic. In these 6 months I’ve mostly been in “healthy mode”, I only eat fast food when it’s absolutely necessary – oh, I might have forgotten to mention, I HAVE to eat every 2-3 hours, 4 TOPS! I am a MONSTER without food! I also work two jobs (about 52 hours a week).  I have always taken frozen diet meals for lunch, for 10 years I’ve eaten them, every work day.  By the time I get home, cooking dinner is the last thing I want to do, and tend not to.  Barber stuffed chicken, Bartolli frozen meals, Celeste pizzas… notice a pattern? I FRICKEN LOVE FROZEN MEALS!!  And Whoppers 😦

Enter Food, Inc.  Forget about it!  Food surrounds my whole world now.  I can’t believe what I learned in that movie, I can’t fathom how much more there is to learn!  Its been 12 days and I have cut out all GMO’s from my shopping.  I decided to finished the food in my pantry and slowly start the turn.  Yeah right.  That box of Cheeze-its I was thoroughly enjoying hasn’t been touched in 10 days.  The box of frozen carrots with barley I had? Well, I cooked (nuked) it and as soon as I smelt it, my stomach turned and I threw it out, unopened.  So my passion has made it easy to stick to it but my stomach is forever wanting to be filled.  Follow me on my journey to completely change over my diet, mind and life.  I promise to make it waaay more interesting than all that get-to-know-me crap!

Leave a Reply

